West region
вул. Ужгородська 1
м. Львів
Phone: +380 322 722 886
The history of this church’s foundation is surrounded with legends about the founder of Lviv Prince Lev and his wife – Hungarian princess Constance. Individual architectural elements of the church date back to the 13th century and testify to the building skill of old Ukrainian architects. The church was rebuilt several times. The modern stylized reconstruction in Neo-Gothic style was created by architect Yuriy Zakharovych in 1887.
The exposition of the Museum of Old Monuments includes one of the oldest icons created in Western Ukrainian lands which has survived to this day – “The Virgin Mary with the Child” (second half of the 14th century), as well as a sculpture belonging to the same period – the statue of “The Suffering Christ”.