1716186
Login

The Oleksa Novakivsky Art Memorial Museum

West region

вул. Листопадового Чину 11
м. Львів

Phone: +380 322 610 552
E-mail: ,

Was organized in the former studio and residence of the famous artist who lived and worked here in 1913–1935.

It is an imposing one-storied red-brick edifice – a monument of architecture of the end of the 19th century –  built in neo-romantic style according to the project of a well-known Lviv architect Y.Zakhariyevych.

Before 1907 it was a  private  ownership of a Polish artist Y. Styka.  In 1907 it was bought by Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky and in 1908 gifted  to the National Museum in Lviv as a foundation for the needs of artists. In 1913 O.Novakivsky and his family  who arrived in Lviv on the invitation of Metropolitan Sheptytsky settled down in this building. In 1923 – 1935 Oleksa Novakivsky`s studio and the first private Ukrainian Art School in Halychyna founded here became one of the most active centers of Ukrainian artistic life.

In March 1972 the Oleksa Novakivsky Art Memorial Museum  was opened  in commemoration of the UNESCO ceremonious celebration of the 100th anniversary of the artist`s birthday.

The permanent exhibition displays artworks that became a classic of Ukrainian Fine arts. Among them – “Lost Hopes” (1903-1908), the allegorical panel “Science” and “Art” (1914 - 1916), “Oleksa Dovbush” (1931), “Dzvinka” (`1930-1931) as well as the painter`s last work – the composition “Mother of Mercy” (1935), created for St.George`s Cathedral in Lviv.

Opening hours

all months Su - Th 10:00 - 18:00

Images gallery

 
 
 
Lázně | Profi.cz | Hledej ubytování | auto profi | Ukraina Travel | Menu4u
Publikační a redakční systém Public4u © 2000-2013
load